[TRANS] Baekhyun @ EX’ACT Monster Interview

BAEKHYUN

Baekhyun – Monster keywords: Mischief, Consistent, Clarity

Q: What is your earliest memory?
Baekhyun: I think it would be me holding onto a baby bottle. (Laughs) I was at my mother’s friend’s house then. There might have been a baby in the house. I might have been about 4 years old then? My mother’s friend was doing the dishes and I remember that I was holding onto an empty baby bottle. It was sunset then. The front door was right in front of the living room and there were 3 rooms. I think it was a brownish house.

Q: When do you feel that you’re an adult?
Baekhyun: An adult? But I’m already 25. Ah, when I’m a good son to my parents.

Q: Do you think that you’re a consistent person?
Baekhyun: I’m not a person with consistency. I think I’m the kind to act according to my feelings. I’m impromptu. (laughs) I’m fascinated with people who are consistent, like D.O.

Q: Do you think that it is because of an internal factor that makes someone change, or do you think that it is because of an external factor?
Baekhyun: Factors on the outside play a strong role. If people around me tell me that I’m doing well, I will appear to do well. And if they say that I’m not good at something, I will not appear to do well. Truthfully, I don’t think internal factors are all that important. After all, people cannot see themselves in objectivity, so they give themselves opinions that are more generous than what others would give. So I think that internal factors cannot change a person.

Q: What do you think is essential for you to stay the same when people around you change?
Baekhyun: Be very playful and to have a bright personality.

Q: When do you think that you’re most confident?
Baekhyun: When I fool around with the members in the waiting room. For me, when I’m in front of others, I really don’t change much or have different personalities. I’m exactly the same as how I am on stage. Whether I am on stage or off, I’m not that different.

Q: Have you felt burdened by others’ expectations of you? Have you had a moment where you got rid of that weight?
Baekhyun: Always. Since I became a celebrity, I worry most about what happens if I don’t sing well, what happens if I don’t dance well. If we talk about when I get to get rid that weight, it would be when I practice, and when I exercise. When I take care of my well-being. If I do that, that burden feels lighter. If only I could resolve every single one of it.

Q: What are you most afraid of?
Baekhyun: I’m afraid of dying. By a major illness, dying and not being able to live for a long time. I hope to live for a long time without any pain. Peacefully. As a pacifist.

Q: Are you the type to believe in chance, or are you the type to believe in fate?
Baekhyun: I believe in fate, of course. “Whatever can happen will happen”. There’s that saying, isn’t there? I believe in that saying. To me, I feel like everything is all about fate. Just like how I got first got casted into the company. And just like how it was fate that EXO was formed.

Q: What do you think is the most valuable among the things that can’t be seen with the naked eye?
Baekhyun: People’s emotions. Though you can’t see it with your eyes, isn’t it the most intriguing thing? Even if you meet every single person, you won’t be able to like them all the same. I think it is very fascinating how your heart moves towards a certain person more than towards others.

Q: What do you want to have if you can have only one thing in the world forever?
Baekhyun: If I can have it forever, it would be EXO. I really hope that EXO’s name will be forever. Just like Michael Jackson who was many musicians’ role model, and is remembered and missed by many. I think it would be great if I can live in people’s memories for a long time, and if the one important stroke I draw in my working field leaves an imprint.

Trans © 103oclock
Original Source © bh_exo

Leave a Reply

