[TRANS] EXO @ So Cool Magazine, Nr. 96, October Issue Part ①

KRIS 
Height: 187 cm
Date of Birth: November 6, 1990
Astrology Sign: Scorpio
Hobbies: Reading, Sleeping, Basketball, Travel
Role in EXO: EXO-M’s Leader, Main Rapper
On the album’s “wish list” you wrote “To fly,” what is the meaning behind “fly”? 
“Fly” refers to the goals I want to achieve, from a long-term perspective, I hope in the future I will be able to try acting in some dramas , to develop in the entertianment industry, because I personally look forward to this particular part of my career. As for a short-term, I am very interested in clothing and styling, therefore I am very mindful to clothing coordination, such that the STYLE that I wear on variety shows and at the airports were all prepared by me.

TAO 
Height: 183 CM
Date of Birth: May 02, 1993
Astrology Sign: Taurus
Hobbies: Shopping, Internet Surfing, Sports, Play games
Role in EXO: Rapper, “Martial Artist”
When you are in a bad mood or feel very tired, how do you adjust yourself? 
I feel the most important thing to do is to adjust my attitude (towards the situation), to try my best to not feel bad. To release stress I often listen to music, practice Rap, do sports, go to the shore, or go have a walk by the Han River (in South Korea), quietly thinking over the situation is also a great way to release stress.

LUHAN 
Height: 178 CM
Date of Birth: April 20, 1990
Astrology Sign: Aries
Hobbies: Singing, Dancing, Soccer, Rubik’s Cube
Role in EXO: EXO-M’s Lead Sinber, Dancer, “Good-Looking”
Can you share with us your most favorite song in the new album? 
In the album, my favorite song is “Butterfly Girl” (Don’t Go), this is a song that has a lot of emotions, mainly because it expresses the determination and yearning we have towards love, and an positive attitude towards a future that is filled with happiness.

CHANYEOL
Height: 185 CM
Date of Birth: Novmber 27, 1992
Astrology Sign: Sagitaurus
Hobbies: Music, Acting
Role in EXO: Rapper, Atmosphere Maker, Reactions
Usually you are a member who is able to create the atmosphere, do you have any thoughts of developing into the entertainment industry?
Of course! I don’t stress as easily (as others), if I feel stressed out, I will shout loudly, or laugh loudly, that’s why I always look like I’m full of energy, by doing this I can cheer up the people around me. Besides entertainment talents, I still want to show everyone my compositions or other talents I have too.

SEHUN
Height: 184 CM
Date of Birth: April 12, 1994
Astrology Sign: Aries
Hobbies: Listen to music, dance, act
Role in EXO: EXO-K’s Dancer,  “Image Representative”(门面担当), Maknae
From the previous album until now, how you think EXO has grown in music? 
“MAMA” is classic SMP style, “XOXO” is meant to be closer to audience, so we used unique song lyrics and an addictive melody. Everyone can feel there is a different kind of charm, and get to see a 180 degrees different EXO.
LAY
Height: 178 CM
Date of Birth: October 07, 1991
Astrology Sign: Libra
Hobbies: Dance, Compose, Write Songs
Role in EXO: EXO-M’s Lead Dancer, Sub-Vocals, “Music Instruments”
We heard that you compose lyrics, so what genre do you write? 
I often will spontaneously hum a melody based on my emotions, and on some ideas that I have at the time, and readily record it down, and when I have free time, will make it into a demo. I will carefully memorize all the songs I have already written so far, waiting for the right time to share it with all of you.

BAEKHYUN
Height: 174 CM
Date of Birth: May 06, 1992
Astrology Sign: Taurus
Hobbies: Singing, Play Piano, Hapkido, Karate
Role in EXO: EXO-K’s Lead Singer, “Eyeliner”
Fans from various countries say that you speak their local languages very well, do you have any special secret to doing this? 
It is because every time before I go to new country, or after I have arrived at the country, I will learn from the locals their greetings and basic conversational phrases, I will to the best of my ability imitate the local’s intonation.  I think this is probably one of the main reasons why everyone says I speak the local languages very well.

SUHO 
Height: 173 CM
Date of Birth: May 22, 1991
Astrology Sign: Gemini
Hobbies: Singing, Acting, Golf
Role in EXO: EXO’s Main Leader, EXO-K’s Leader, “Mama”
When EXO received first place for the first time, you cried very emotionally, so are you a a very emotional person? What kind of things do you feel can move you the most?
Ha~ I feel so embarrassed about crying that time, but it was because I felt very emotional as it was the first time we got first place. My natural personality is the emotional kind, I belong to the kind of people who like to enjoy looking at the scenery while simultaneously thinking about various questions. Usually I will watch a lot of movies or TV dramas, but I feel that documentaries will move me the most, as it will leave me with a lot of resonance and emotions.

CHEN
Height: 178 CM
Date of Birth: September 21, 1992
Astrology Sign: Virgo
Hobbies: Singing, Enjoy Music
Role in EXO: EXO-M’s Lead Singer, the final stabber (T/N: a member that attacks with sharp comments even when the other member is already down or literally on the verge of being done for)
Under official data it mentions that you can play the piano, is it possible that this talent will be integrated into your music in the future?
I think that after I polish my skills and then show this talent to everyone, because there are still a lot of areas that needs preparation, so it needs to be a longer waiting time, but of course I hope in the future I can participate in music production, but I still need more practice in technique.

XIUMIN 
Height: 173 CM
Date of Birth: March 26, 1990
Astrology Sign: Aries
Hobbies: Soccer
Role in EXO: EXO M’s sub-vocalist, sub-lead dancer, in charge of sweating
From the third year of high school, did you already have the dream of being a singer? 
I think that all children dream of being a celebrity during some part of their youth, and I am not an exception.  One of my friends who also wanted to become a celebrity, went along with me to attend the competition, and in the end, my dream came true, I was very happy.

D.O.
Height: 173 cm
Date of Birth: January 12, 1993
Astrology Sign: Capricorn
Hobbies: Singing, Dancing, Cooking
Role in EXO: EXO-K’s Lead Singer
On stage you give off a full aggressiveness feeling, but on other programs, you are rather shy, so which is the real you? 
Actually both are part of the real me. On stage I love the very charismatic feeling, in private I am in a very calm and natural state, and apart from showing off my charisma on stage, I wish I can let everyone see a natural me.

KAI
Height: 183 cm
Date of Birth: January 14, 1994
Astrology Sign: Capricorn
Hobbies: Sleeping, Read manga, Watch Anime
Role in EXO: Overall Lead Dancer, EXO-K’s Lead Dancer,  in charge of being “Sexy”
Recently, you were a cameo in f(x)’s comeback, and the SM family frequently have share-performances, what kind of collaboration are you looking forward to the most? 
Not too long ago, f(x) and I shot a couple of cover pictures, I think that if I can help them out in any way is a very happy feeling, and it can show off my worth (laugh).  At the same time I am looking forward to working with every SM artist, if I have to choose then I want to choose SHINee’s Taemin, because him and I are the same age, but compared to me, he debuted earlier, usually we will share and learn from each other’s dance moves, which is why I am really looking forward to collaborating with him.

Translation cr: Icingonyou
Magazine interview transcript by: skychwu88 on Exo’s Tieba
Please take out with credits.

Leave a Reply

